Reviews

Aria's Law by Misha McKenzie

Ruth West - Monday, July 31, 2017

Title: Aria's Law
Author: Misha McKenzie
Publisher: Icasm Press
Published: Dec. 15, 2015
Genre: Paranormal Romance




Great story that is the start of a series (Burke Witches Book One). It was engaging and the scenes seemed real. The romance scenes were a little light. Characters were interesting but the relationships needed more. There were missed opportunities for heat. I am looking forward to the next book.
Reviewed by BSMerriam


 Read More

Dream Me by Kathryn Berla

Ruth West - Thursday, July 27, 2017

Title: Dream Me
Author: Kathryn Berla
Publisher: Amberjack Publishing
Published: July 11, 2017
Genre: Young Adult, Futuristic, Contemporary, Romance




A fantastic unique story that blends the future with the past. Dream Me is a gripping page-turning read that will easily hook you from the beginning. Although the story takes time to unfold and understand the world created by the author, the plot progresses as do the characters in an enriching story. Dream Me is brilliantly written and creatively woven to bring Zat from the future into Babe's dreams. In a futuristic world that is dying, Zat's only chance of survival is by being a part of Babe's dreams, allowing him the chance to see the world long before we destroyed it. There were moments of tears in the last final pages of the book that had me clinging to read more, unwilling to put down my kindle. Emotions are high in this young love tale of a story that Zat, a boy from the future becomes part of Babe's dreams to live a life worth having. If I could give this story six stars I would. A satisfying and emotional ending will leave you thinking about this book, long after you've finished the last page.

Reviewed by: Violet Black

 Read More

Guardians: The Girl by Lola StVil

Ruth West - Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Title: Guardians: The Girl
Author: Lola StVil
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services
Published: January 9, 2012
Genre: Paranormal, Young Adult, Romance




An exciting and page-turning read that will keep you on the edge of your seat, anxious to discover what will happen next. Guardians: The Girl is packed early on with the full explanation of what/why/how of the history of what was happening, with a little bit of an information overload. A through content edit could have easily fixed the heavy dose of information that seemed to go on for pages. The story itself was plenty creative, imaginative, with a strong dose of world-building. There were a variety of characters that were charismatic and full of detail that made for a well-rounded story.
Reviewed by: Katherine K.

 Read More

Same Love by Tony Correia

Ruth West - Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Title: Same Love
Author: Tony Correia
Publisher: James Lorimer & Company
Releases: August 1, 2017
Genre: LGBT, Romance, YA



An easy read that is quite often lined with humor despite the heavy subject nature of Same Love. This book is quite clearly written for young adults but I would recommend this story only to those mature enough to handle the content. Where some books drag on to get to the point of the story, I appreciated that Same Love jumped right in with the first chapter. There was easily enough backstory to get onboard and relate while also feeling for the characters, especially Adam. The writing is smooth and clean, the characters have depth and are well-rounded. Although there are obscenities thrown early on in the story (strong enough to cast a long-lasting impression), while also making the reader flinch, this book isn't for the faint of heart or those too young to grasp the message. Adam, a Christian teenage boy that comes out to his parents finds himself sent away to a Christian camp to "fix" him. The sad reality is how true and easily this book could be real for someone that is a teenager, struggling with coming out.
Reviewed by: Laura

 Read More

Mail Order Groom by Dana Wayne

Ruth West - Friday, July 21, 2017

Title: Mail Order Groom
Author: Dana Wayne
Publisher: Y&R Publishing, LLC
Published: April 2017
Genre: Historical, Western 


I thoroughly enjoyed the story, but am confused as to the title in how it relates. The Hero was not mail ordered that I could tell. The Heroine and other main characters definitely made me feel for her and the Hero as well. I enjoyed the twists and turns and the Villain was just nasty enough I wanted to do away with him as well. I think the book was satisfactorily written but needs more editing. There were areas that were a bit confusing when first started to read the paragraph/chapter that you had to remember who was talking and what they were talking about, so it could use a bit more attention in that regard.
Overall it was a good book and I really enjoyed it.
Reviewed by Barb Wallace


 Read More

His Ex's Little Sister by Bella Love-Wins

Ruth West - Thursday, July 20, 2017

Title: His Ex's Little Sister
Author: Bella Love-Wins
Published: July 12, 2017
Publisher: Bella Love-Wins Books
Genre: Contemporary 





His Ex's Little Sister has a lot of depth and a decent amount of backstory that makes the book well-rounded, while being a quick read. I finished this story in less than two hours. Reid's character is charming and likable, even with his history of having abandoned his high-school girlfriend. He accepts responsibility for his actions and doesn't flinch in the face of danger. At times he's a little too pushy toward Robin but he's not anything like her ex-boyfriend that is just plain awful. I would have liked the author to expand on this further, making the book a little longer. Also, at times I found Reid's work to be an important part of the story but not as exciting as I'd have liked. I much more enjoyed the scenes between Reid and Robin. The ending came quick and though I appreciated that there was an epilogue added, I would have liked the pacing at the end to be slower.
Reviewed by Kate

 Read More

That Boy by Jillian Dodd

Ruth West - Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Title: That Boy
Author: Jillian Dodd
Publisher: Jillian Dodd Inc.
Published: Jan 13, 2014
Genre: Young Adult, New Adult, Contemporary




The writing in That Boy, comes across as juvenile. Maybe it was intentional with chapters spanning back as far as fourth grade, but I would have rather had flashbacks or a series of memories from an adult's writing with a juvenile perspective. Even more mature writing would have made the story stronger. Instead the sentences were short and choppy, grammatically correct but bland to read. I could not for the life of me get into Jay's character and like her. She's kissing Danny for "learning-sake" while getting ready for a date with another boy. It made me hate her character, this juvenile behavior and yes she's a teenager but I feel like the writing and characterizations make Jay look even more immature and selfish. That Boy lacked substance that other young adult titles like The Selection, Looking for Alaska, Fangirl, Delirium, and Before I Fall are drenched in. I wanted to love That Boy, even with the writing not up to my taste and I kept reading as the main character grew older, hoping that her story would mature, but I just didn't feel a solid connection to the story or the characters.
Reviewed by: Chloe Stafford

 Read More

A Mail-Order Heart by Janelle Daniels

Ruth West - Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Title: A Mail-Order Heart
Author: Janelle Daniels
Published: April 19, 2016
Publisher: Dream Cache Publishing
Genre: Western, Historical Romance 




Traveling by train to meet her fiance, Clara quickly discovers she is one of nine brides promised to a man that died three days ago. Sawyer, the local sheriff is on the scene, attempting to settle the girls down and quell their fears. Clara immediately takes charge of the situation, and help settles all the girls down. Clara's personality is clearly defined based on her upbringing with twelve siblings. She is a strong character with a take-charge attitude that forces you to cheer for her from the beginning, even if she's making a mess in the process. Sawyer is also strong, causing them to tiff in the beginning, but at least he realizes that the women will need his help and isn't too bull-headed to offer assistance. I appreciate the lack of instalove between Clara and Sawyer. It is clear he feels something quite early on for her, as does she for him, but the romance isn't overplayed. The writing is easy to follow and the chapters are a quick page-turning read offering both Sawyer and Clara's point of view. With nine brides, there's a lot of characters to keep track of but the writing flows effortlessly and the ones that hold the most impact are easily remembered.
Reviewed by: Jenna Malone

 Read More

Grounded by G.P. Ching

Ruth West - Monday, July 17, 2017

Title: Grounded
Author: G. P. Ching
Publisher: Carpe Luna Publishing
Published: November 11, 2012
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Romance



Grounded is a phenomenal story that goes places I never saw coming. It is a fast read that is filled with excitement and energy, especially as the story progresses. Hemlock Hollow is a small town where Lydia, an Amish girl, has the opportunity to experience the English world on rumspringa. With its roots in a a strong world-building in Hemlock Hollow, this futuristic story explores the power of electricity in a way that is creative and satisfying. Lydia grapples with the government, her new relationship with Korwin, and her identity as a 'Spark'. Prepare to be enlightened by this electrifying dystopian while reading Grounded. I eagerly await snatching the second book in the series. With likable characters, an engaging plot, a fast-paced but well-developed story, and twists and turns at every corner, this book is sure to satisfy. 
Reviewed by Samantha Peters

 Read More

His Highland Heart by Willa Blair

Ruth West - Friday, July 14, 2017

Title: His Highland Heart
Author: Willa Blair
Publisher: self-published
Published: Feb 2, 2017
Genre: Historical Romance, Scottish



The story opens with Euan Brodie being shipwrecked on Ross lands, he is in hostile territory and has been separated from his crew. He is injured and wracked with guilt over the loss of his ship and crew. His first encounter with Muireall Munro is when he saves her from being swept out to sea.

Muireall was taken captive almost a month prior when the Ross clan raided her lands and stole her and two other girls as brides. Muireall has yet to be matched with a Ross clansman, but that will change in a matter of days if she cannot escape. She has tried more than once and has the marks to prove it. When she is cut off from the cove by the rising tide, she is sure that she will die. But Euan risks his own safety to save her and she feels a glimmer of hope that she might be able to get home.

Muireall and Euan don’t exactly trust each other, but they work together to reach caves above the tide line and hatch a plan to escape the Ross’. As much as she doesn’t want to, Muireall agrees to return the village and will try to persuade Ella, one of the other Munro girls to leave with her and to aid Euan escape.

After Muireall returns to the beach, she is immediately caught by the Ross laird, who promptly gives her to his second in command as a bride. Euan lets her go, but has promised to return her to her family. When she leave the cave and he doesn’t hear her, he follows her. Once he knows she is back in the village and decides to search for food and water and ends up finding Calum, one of his lost crewmen.

When Muireall is cornered by the Ross laird, she runs in the woods trying to find Euan. When she stubbles upon him, the Ross laird and his guard ambush them. In a fight for his life, Euan ends up killing the Ross laird and escaping with Muireall and Calum. When they make it to the cove to steal a boat, they find another crewman, unfortunately, he did not survive. Euan has promised to take Muireall home, but he must first return James’ body to his family. He asks her to try and be patient just a little longer.

When they arrive back at Brodie, Euan immediately wants to go back and find his other missing crew members, but Iain Brodie, Laird Brodie refuses to let him go, he also refuses to return Muireall to Munro until he knows what is happening with the Ross clan.

Over the next few days, Muireall is cared for by the Brodie clan and grows closer to Euan, but she just wants to go home, even when the Brodie clansmen return with news and Ella, she is impatient to leave.

When a Ross warrior shows up and tells Iain that they have one of his clansmen and will kill him if the man who murdered their laird and the girls are not returned to them, Muireall is frantic – she will not return to the Ross clan and she doesn’t want Euan to go either. Iain refuses to admit that they had anything to do with death of the Ross laird and sends the warrior back empty handed. Again Muireall asks to be sent home and is again denied.

When Euan is able to redeem himself and with the help of Muireall come up with a plan to make a peace offering to the new Ross laird, Iain gives Muireall permission to return home.

Before they leave, Euan admits his feelings to Muireall and is hurt that she doesn’t immediately agree to marry him. He returns her to her family and again makes his feelings known and is again rejected.

He leaves to return to Brodie and they are both heartbroken, until one of them finally swallows their pride and returns to their love. Even when our lovers are reunited, Ms. Blair isn’t finished with the story and throws in another twist or two.

This was a well written book, it flowed nicely, had a lot of tense moments, a lot of heartache and a little steam. I did feel like Muireall was unreasonable at times and maybe a tad selfish. And towards the end of the book, she really became annoying, rejecting Euan, yet being upset that he didn’t ask her father for her hand. If I was confused, I can only imagine what poor Euan was feeling 😊

All in all, it was a very entertaining read and I would be happy to recommend it to anyone who enjoys highland historicals.

Reviewed by Tracy Emro

 Read More