Reviews

Devious Maidens by Maryse Dawson

Ruth West - Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Title: Devious Maidens
Author: Maryse Dawson
Publisher: Blushing Books
Published: July 19, 2017
Genre: Historical, Medieval




I used to read medieval novels all the time, but haven’t picked one up in a while. I was excited to read this collection of short stories. First off, the “old world” language was very distracting. It almost made me not want to continue. Once I got passed that, the stories were entertaining, light but kind of forgettable. These stories have spanking in them, so if this is not your thing then don’t pick it up. Overall I give it a 3 star rating with probably my favorite the 2nd story in the lot.
Reviewed by: Noni Fro


 Read More

A Second Chance At Love by Kassandra Lynn

Ruth West - Thursday, August 24, 2017

Title: A Second Chance At Love
Author: Kassandra Lynn
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services
Published: August 7, 2017
Genre: Historical, Time Travel




Brilliant! Epic! A real page turner! A Second Chance at Love is truly spell-binding and magical. Not one for heavy fantasy stories, this historical romance adds a bit of time travel to the mix in a simple yet enjoyable manner. The young Empress Ursila Ufran had once run away with her healer, having leaved the cold-hearted Emperor only to discover that everyone she loves had been beheaded for treason, her lover Draven had betrayed her, and her own life is quickly snuffed out. Given a rare second chance at life and love, Ursila must fix what has been wronged, save her family, herself, and discover whether the acts of treason commited by her family were true. The characters are all well-developed with a solid backstory and a fast-moving but well-paced plot. This can be read as a stand alone novel and having discovered that there are in fact other books in the series, I can't wait to get my hands on those as well. I had no idea that this was a second story in Time Travel & Second Chance series. The author does a great job of fully developing a story without needing to read the first book. A novel full of suspense, intrigue, trepidation, love, angst, and twists and turns abound. I eagerly will pick up more stories by Kassandra Lynn. Her writing is smooth and seems effortless (though we know that's not the case).
Reviewed by Kaitlyn


 Read More

The Demon Duke by Margaret Locke

Ruth West - Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Title: The Demon Duke
Author: Margaret Locke
Publisher: Locked on Love Publishing
Published: June 6, 2017
Genre: Historical, Regency




I love Regency Romance novels but was a little skeptical of the title because I don't like supernatural. I started reading this book and became intrigued by the Duke's sense of honor and Grace's desire to read in peace. I have four children so reading in peace is not something I get to do unless it is late at night. I found myself skipping laundry, dishes, and meal prep to wander back to Clarehaven and spend time with them instead. I loved this book so much that I went out and bought the books before this one and can't wait for the next one in the series. Margaret Locke's story telling reminds me of Julia Quinn's Bridgerton series which is amazing. The characters in this book tie into the other books in the series so now I find myself wanted to reread them all again because I missed the references to the characters I didn't know yet. Thank you Margaret you are amazing. Gotta go headed back to Clarehaven like Eliza (read them and you will understand too.)
Reviewed by: Michelle Roderick


 Read More

A Love To Remember by Bronwen Evans

Ruth West - Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Title: A Love To Remember
Author: Bronwen Evans
Publisher: Random House
Published: August 29, 2017
Genre: Regency





This was a very engaging story. I felt a little like I was plunked down in the middle of a series - of which, I'd LOVE to read more! Our heroine, Rose, is easy to relate to. All she wants out of life, really, is to love someone and have them love her back. I really loved the wounded hero, Lord Cumberland, and felt like his back story made him a better character with that annoying desire to be honorable. And let's be real, it makes him more swoon-worthy. There's a prevailing theme of duty vs love, which always reminds me of Wuthering Heights. But this story is far less dark, and more pure romance. I was surprised to learn who the enemy was as well. I would've loved for that piece to have been explored in greater detail. But for a romance novel, I was satisfied. There's certainly too much detail in the love scenes for younger readers. But as long as you know that in advance, it makes for a very interesting read. I loved it. I'd love to read more in this series and by this author.
Reviewed by Liz


 Read More

Awaken My Heart by Maria K. Alexander

Ruth West - Thursday, August 17, 2017

Title: Awaken My Heart
Author: Maria K. Alexander
Publisher: The Wild Rose Press, Inc.
Published: May 10, 2017
Genre: Contemporary




A sweet romance with plenty of sexual tension and a definite page-turner. Detective Nick is written with a sexy tone and a male that every straight girl will want to bring into the bedroom. He's charming and honest and the chemistry shared with his one-night stand fourteen years ago is like ever-present fireworks. He's relentless in asking her out again and she's tentative to say yes, given past and the secret she harbors. There's no having to wait or guess the secret too long, which I appreciate. There's tons of sizzle and plenty of plot to make this a well-rounded story. Pleased to find this an easy read to get into and one that I didn't want to put down, Awaken My Heart is the first book I've read from Maria K. Alexander and I happily look forward to reading anything else she writes. Fast paced, full of heart-racing contemporary style drama, you will love this book if you love sweet romances.
Reviewed by: Melanie P.


 Read More

Under the Stars by Kendra Delugar

Ruth West - Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Title: Under the Stars
Author: Kendra Delugar
Publisher: Kendra Delugar
Published: June 4, 2017
Genre: Contemporary




This was a sweet, well-written book. Sophie and Gabriel were very real characters and I could relate to what was going on for each of them. The pace of their relationship development made sense and I enjoyed the story. I am looking forward to reading other books by this author.
Reviewed by Robin D.


 Read More

Flood by Elaine Cantrell

Ruth West - Monday, August 14, 2017

Title: Flood
Author: Elaine Cantrell
Publisher: Wings ePress, Inc.
Published: June 1, 2017
Genre: Contemporary




This story was fantastic, with plenty of plot surprises that I didn't expect! At first, I didn't understand how Dr DeLuca could trust an ex-con so easily. But the story line moved quickly and answered my questions. It's really a story of a woman meeting and falling for the guy from the wrong side of the tracks. He's got a heart of gold that even the animals at her shelter recognize. It's the kind of story that stays with you because of the intensity of the circumstances and you remember the characters. I also liked that the author left some of the romance up to my imagination.
Sometimes less is more, and in this particular story, it would've been distracting, especially with regards to the unfolding drama.
The only thing I had any trouble with was being sure I had the right pronunciation of the heroine's (and her mom's) names.
I really enjoyed reading this story and hope to read more from this author.

Reviewed by Liz


 Read More

Keep Away From the Heat by Amelia James

Ruth West - Saturday, August 12, 2017

Title: Keep Away From the Heat
Author: Amelia James
Publisher: Limitless Publishing, LLC
Published: March 29, 2017
Genre: Contemporary Erotic Romance




Dash Ryder and Simone Leveque had been high school sweethearts torn apart by an apparent betrayal. Thirteen years later, he is superintendent of a county’s wildfire crew and she has just been hired as the manager of Emergency Management Services for said county, and is his new boss.

This is an erotic romance with a second chance at romance trope. I had difficulty with the story primarily because I did not find the heroine very likeable. She is shown as a seemingly strong woman who has some self-doubt. However, the scenes where she portrayed the weakness felt contrived. Her need to argue or bicker with the hero was fairly constant and though the why of it was explained in the story, it did not lead me to find her any more appealing. And the emotional outbursts lead mostly to bouts of angry sex, over and over, again.

I had more sympathy for the hero but was not much of a fan in regards to his part in a “big misunderstanding.” However, this may simply be a quirk of mine and other readers who don’t mind this device may be more content.

The author does a good job in writing the action-packed scenes with wildfire and other emergency situations. She also manages to tie together loose ends and explain motivation of her main characters well. And frankly, the last bit of the book was satisfyingly romantic. In the end, it was an ok read.

Reviewed by Lil


 Read More

Premonition by Leigh Walker

Ruth West - Friday, August 11, 2017

Title: Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
Author: Leigh Walker
Publisher: CMG Publishing
Published: July 19, 2017
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian



Wow! What an intense thrill-ride. Premonition starts off with a typical story of a teenage girl that's joined a boarding school summer program as a work-study so that she can aim for an Ivy League type of education. Riley soon discovers that her work-study isn't what she thought, tasked with joining an elite and secretive division of the FBI known as "The Division." The writing is quick and breezy, forcing me to finish this book in one day, because I could not for the life of me put it down. I would have liked to have seen one additional round of edits done, I found two blatant errors that slowed down my reading but didn't take away any of my enjoyment of the story. The characters of Riley and Finn have a blossoming relationship that is full of emotion. Premonition brought tears to my eyes, forcing me to cry while reading about Riley's family. The author has created strong characters, a solid backstory, and a ground-breaking plot that will keep you on the edge of your seat. I highly recommend this book.
Reviewed by Samantha Peters


 Read More

Romancing Dr. Love by Rebecca Heflin

Ruth West - Thursday, August 10, 2017

Title: Romancing Dr. Love
Author: Rebecca Heflin
Publisher: Rebecca Heflin Books
Published: March 7, 2017
Genre: Contemporary




Full disclosure, I’ve never read a book by Rebecca Heflin, but I will now be adding her to my ‘to be read’ list. This book, “Romancing Dr. Love” is full of humor and romance. The two main characters are people I would actually want to be friends with. Samantha has a very analytical mind which makes her not want to have anything to do with having a boyfriend. Ethan only has eyes for Samantha and is all about romancing her which she does not understand the concept of. Opposites definitely attract in this great start to a series that I will continue to read.
Reviewed by Kimberly Green

 Read More